Don Richards Leadership Award nomination

As former publisher of The Business Journal and president of the Waukesha Area Chamber of Commerce, the late Don Richards’ hands-on leadership, ethics and delight in achieving tangible results have left a lasting impression on our leaders today. The Don Richards Leadership Award was created in his honor in 1993 to inspire and motivate business people to take community leadership roles. Recipients of the Don Richards Leadership Award have embodied the following criteria:

  • Leadership
  • Making involvement exciting
  • Vision
  • Optimism
  • Sustained impact
  • Credibility
  • Risk taker
  • Getting things accomplished
  • Hands-on
  • Ability to see the big picture
  • Active love for the community

Don Richards Leadership Award nomination form

  • File uploads

    File uploads should include a biography or resume, up to three additional items that display the nominee's leadership qualities (i.e. newspaper articles, previous awards, etc.) and up to three letters of recommendation.
  • Drop files here or

You may gain an appreciation of Don’s incredible impact as exemplified by the recipients of the prestigious Don Richards Leadership Award:

1994 – Richard W. Marlow, Hardy-Marlow, Inc.
1995 – Donald Fundingsland, Waukesha Hospital System
1996 – Martin Frank, Waukesha State Bank
1997 – Al Link, Link Associates
1998 – Peter Lettenberger, Quarles & Brady
1999 – Leon Janssen, GE Medical Systems
2000 – Dick Richards, Country Springs Hotel & Conference Center
2001 – Rexford W. Titus, II, Waukesha Memorial Hospital
2002 – Lynn Revoy, Waukesha County Technical College
2003 – Don Taylor, Waukesha State Bank
2004 – Andrea & Anthony Bryant, Century Fence
2005 – Joanne B. & A. William Huelsman, Berg Management
2006 – Anne & Bryce Styza, Harmony Homes
2007 – Ken Riesch, R&R Insurance Services
2008 – Terry Jannsen, Jannsen & Company, SC
2009 – Patti Wallner, Waukesha County Chamber of Commerce
2010 – Jim Lindenberg, Milwaukee Wave
2011 – Margaret Farrow, Former Lt. Governor of Wisconsin
2012 –  Thomas E. Dalum, DUECO, Inc.
2013 – Stuart Schroeder, The Schroeder Group, S.C.
2014 – William J. Mielke, Ruekert & Mielke, Inc.
2015 – Sandy Wysocki, Milwaukee Business Journal
2016 – The Fotsch Family
2017 – Dave Vetta, First Business Bank
2018 – Jim Walden, Walden & Schuster, S.C.
2019 – Susan Marshall, Backbone Institute
2020 – Kent Lorenz, Community Leader
2021 – Lisa Reardon, OwnersEdge