Legislative Update


The legislature officially kicked off in January with several new Waukesha County legislators as well as a new “divided government” between the Governor’s office and state Senate and Assembly.

Read more about legislative leaders’ priorities.

To learn more about state and federal policies and politics, register for the Alliance’s State and Federal Policy Briefing on March 27.

Assembly: Republicans have a 63-36 seat majority and Waukesha County welcomed two new representatives: Barbara Dittrich (R – Oconomowoc) in District 38 and Robyn Vining (D – Wauwatosa) in District 14.


  • Speaker: Rep. Robin Vos (R-Rochester)
  • Majority Leader: Rep. Jim Steineke (R-Kaukauna)
  • Assistant Majority Leader: Rep. Mary Felzkowski (R-Irma)
  • Minority Leader: Rep. Gordon Hintz (D-Oshkosh

Waukesha County Legislators – Key Committee Chairs:

  • Community Development: Rep. Scott Allen (R – Waukesha)
  • Constitution and Ethics: Rep. Chuck Wichgers (R – Muskego)
  • Criminal Penalties (Co-Chair): Rep. Rob Hutton (R – Brookfield)
  • Energy and Utilities:  Rep. Mike Kuglitsch (R-New Berlin)
  • Financial Institutions: Rep. Cindi Duchow (R – Town of Delafield)
  • Health: Rep. Joe Sanfelippo (R – New Berlin)
  • Information Policy and Technology (Co-Chair): Rep. Dan Knodl (R – Germantown)
  • International Affairs and Commerce: Rep. Rob Hutton (R – Brookfield)
  • Jobs and the Economy: Rep. Adam Neylon (R-Pewaukee)
  • Regulatory Licensing Reform: Rep. Cody Horlacher (R – Mukwonago)
  • Small Business Development: Rep. Janel Brandtjen (R – Menomonee Falls)

Senate: Republicans retained a 19-14 seat majority in the Senate and Waukesha County has one new state senator – Dale Kooyenga (R – Brookfield) who previously served in the Assembly.


  • Majority Leader: Sen. Scott Fitzgerald (R-Juneau)
  • Senate President: Sen. Roger Roth (R-Appleton)
  • Minority Leader: Sen. Jennifer Shilling (D-La Crosse)

Waukesha County Legislators – Key Committee Chairs:

  • Administrative Rules: Sen. Steve Nass (R – Whitewater)
  • Insurance, Financial Services, Government Oversight and Courts: Sen. David Craig (R – Big Bend)
  • Joint Finance (Co-Chair): Sen. Alberta Darling (R-River Hills)
  • Labor and Regulatory Reform: Sen. Steve Nass (R – Whitewater)
  • Public Benefits, Licensing and State-Federal Relations: Sen. Chris Kapenga (R – Delafield)
  • Senate Organization: Sen. Scott Fitzgerald (R – Juneau)
  • Tax Exemptions (Co-Chair): Sen. Dale Kooyenga (R – Brookfield)
  • Universities, Technical Colleges, Children and Families: Sen. Dale Kooyenga (R – Brookfield)

Share on Social Media

Recent News

Sign up for newsletter updates

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We would love to hear from your. Please reach out with any questions.